The Curfew

by Sam M. Phillips

Pick up my notebook,

Look around,

What can be found?

Ground swelling under feet

As I try to complete

A sentence,

Pretence for emotion,

Position of power,

Cower before the law,

Raw living shut down,

Drown in rules,

Fools obey,

Stay away,

Play at home,

Do not roam

The streets and roads,

Loads never cease,

No way to piece

Together some peace,

New lease on life,

Strife cut off,

Rules scoff

As we scramble,

Tumble into the abyss,

Miss out on a good time,

Crime against our nature,

Ink on paper

Tells us to obey,

In this way

They keep us down

And off the streets of the town

Every night,

We don’t fight,

Bow to might

Of the curfew

Imposed by the few.

***

Do you enjoy my poetry? I also write fiction! Please give it a read, too!

My debut book series, THE DEAD SUN CHRONICLES, is on sale now for just $0.99!

Available on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09J6H